Picture
 

‘UFC on FOX: Henderson vs. Melendez’ Takes Last-Minute Hit

Written by Tom Ngo
April 16th, 2013
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Norman Parke

With just four days remaining until the Octagon returns to primetime television, the lightweight affair between “The Ultimate Fighter: The Smashes” winner Norman Parke (pictured) and Jon Tuck has been pulled from the “UFC on FOX: Henderson vs. Melendez” lineup.

Tuck suffered an undisclosed injury, and with his removal coming so close to showtime, the promotion was unable to secure a suitable last-second substitute to face Parke.

The 155-pound contest was slated to appear in the FX portion of the prelims. With their abrupt exit, the UFC promoted the featherweight scrap with TJ Dillashaw and Hugo Viana from the Facebook stream in its place.

The UFC’s Facebook page now kicks things off live at approximately 4PM ET/1PM PT. FX airs the remaining four prelims starting at 5PM ET/2PM PT.

FOX broadcasts the night’s four featured fights at 8PM ET/5PM PT.

HP Pavilion in San Jose, California serves as host.

Here is Saturday’s revised lineup:

Preliminary Card:

(Facebook 4PM ET/1PM PT)

Yoel Romero vs. Clifford Starks

Roger Bowling vs. Anthony Njokuani

(FX 5PM ET/2PM PT)

TJ Dillashaw vs. Hugo Viana

Jorge Masvidal vs. Tim Means

Darren Uyenoyama vs. Joseph Benavidez

Myles Jury vs. Ramsey Nijem

Francis Carmont vs. Lorenz Larkin

Chad Mendes vs. Darren Elkins

Main Card:

(FOX 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Matt Brown vs. Jordan Mein

Nate Diaz vs. Josh Thomson

Daniel Cormier vs. Frank Mir

Gilbert Melendez vs. Benson Henderson (UFC lightweight champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS