FOX Releases Details for UFC’s Debut on FOX Sports 1

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
May 9th, 2013
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

FOX Sports 1 Logo

T-minus 100 days until FOX launches FOX Sports 1, the all sports channel the network created to rival ESPN. More importantly for mixed martial arts fans, there’s 100 days remaining until the curtain is drawn on UFC on FS1 1.

“We’ve been working for months now, but a lot has come together in the time since we officially unveiled our plans for the launch of FOX Sports 1 in March,” said FOX Sports co-president and COO Eric Shanks. “The programming schedule has been solidified, and we really come out of the gate incredibly strong from Day 1.”

The channel’s August 17 debut will feature nearly eight hours of Octagon action, including episodes of “UFC Ultimate Insider” (3:30-4PM),”UFC Unleashed” (4-5PM) and “UFC Tonight” (5-6PM). The evening will be topped off with a live broadcast of the entire UFC on FS1 1 card.

A two-hour “FOX UFC Saturday Prelims” special begins at 6PM ET/3PM PT, which will be immediately followed by a three-hour telecast of “FOX UFC Saturday” starting at 8PM ET/5PM PT.

The UFC has yet to announce a main event for their debut on FOX Sports 1. Psst, Chael Sonnen knows which scrap should headline the festivities.

TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts serves as host.

FOX also announced their next two UFC on FS 1 shows will take place August 28 and September 4. Both events fall on Wednesdays.

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!