Brock Lesnar Wins Big at UFC 141

Written by Tom Ngo
December 30th, 2011

UFC Brock Lesnar

There are still several hours remaining until the curtain is drawn on UFC 141 inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena, but the Nevada State Athletic Commission has already confirmed Brock Lesnar (Pictured) will leave Las Vegas as the show’s biggest winner – at least financially.

Lesnar is slated to make a flat $400,000 salary for simply stepping inside the Octagon opposite Alistair Overeem. Overeem, on the other hand, earns a “show purse” of $264,285.71 and an additional $121,428.57 if he beats Lesnar.

Paychecks aside, the victor of their heavily-hyped shootout advances to challenge heavyweight champion Junior dos Santos for his freshly-minted hardware.

Please keep in mind, the numbers that get reported to the athletic commissions are only of what’s required. These figures do not include deductions for items such as licenses and taxes.

Additionally, they do not contain money paid by sponsors or any bonuses from the UFC. These royalties can include pay-per-view commissions, Fight Night bonuses, top secret discretionary bonuses, etc., which can oftentimes represent a substantial portion of a fighter’s total income.

Here are the official paydays for UFC 141:

Preliminary Bouts:

Diego Nunes: $12,000 ($12,000 win bonus)
Manny Gamburyan: $18,000 ($18,000 win bonus)

Luis Ramos: $6,000 ($6,000 win bonus)
Matt Riddle: $15,000 ($15,000 win bonus)

Efrain Escudero: $10,000 ($10,000 win bonus)
Jacob Volkmann: $16,000 ($16,000 win bonus)

Sean Pierson: $8,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
Dong Hyun Kim: $41,000 ($41,000 win bonus)

Danny Castillo: $19,000 ($19,000 win bonus)
Anthony Njokuani: $12,000 ($12,000 win bonus)

Junior Assuncao: $8,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
Ross Pearson: $20,000 ($20,000 win bonus)

Main Bouts:

Jim Hettes: $8,000 ($8,000 win bonus)
Nam Phan: $8,000 ($8,000 win bonus)

Alexander Gustafsson: $16,000 ($16,000 win bonus)
Vladimir Matyushenko: $40,000 ($40,000 win bonus)

Jon Fitch: $60,000 ($60,000 win bonus)
Johny Hendricks: $26,000 ($26,000 win bonus)

Donald Cerrone: $30,000 ($30,000 win bonus)
Nate Diaz: $37,000 ($37,000 win bonus)

Brock Lesnar: $400,000 (no win bonus)
Alistair Overeem: $264,285.71 ($121,428.57 win bonus)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!