“UFC 143: Diaz vs. Condit” Fight Bonuses

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
February 4th, 2012

UFC Featherweight Dustin Poirier

After a controversial night of MMA action, UFC president Dana White awarded Dustin Poirier (Pictured), Roy Nelson, Fabricio Werdum and Stephen Thompson each an additional $65,000 for their special performances Saturday night at “UFC 143: Diaz vs. Condit.”

Poirier made quick work of Max Holloway to take home ‘Submission of the Night’ honors. The up-and-comer locked in a triangle armbar in the 1stRound of their featherweight affair.

Nelson and Werdum battled for 15 grueling minutes to earn ‘Fight of the Night.’ When the decision was rendered, Werdum scored a lopsided unanimous decision victory in his return to the big leagues.

Thompson kicked the card off in style, literally, by putting Dan Stittgen to sleep with a roundhouse kick in the first bout of the evening.

UFC 143 took place inside Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Fight of the Night:

Roy Nelson, Fabricio Werdum ($65,000/each)

Submission of the Night:

Dustin Poirier ($65,000)

Knockout of the Night:

Stephen Thompson ($65,000)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!