Brock Lesnar Confirmed to Headline UFC 106 Opposite Shane Carwin

Written by Tim Ngo
September 14th, 2009

With tickets for UFC 106 set to go on sale this Thursday, the organization confirmed today that the event’s two final bouts will feature former UFC light heavyweight champion Tito Ortiz making his UFC return against MMA veteran Mark Coleman, and heavyweight champ Brock Lesnar defending his strap against the undefeated Shane Carwin in the night’s main event.

This really isn’t breaking news considering both of these scraps have been heavily rumored for quite some time, however today’s announcement will surely help bolster early ticket sales for MMA’s biggest organization.

Ortiz has compiled a 14-6-1 professional record over his 12-year mixed martial arts career, all of which were spent with the UFC. Although his Octagon accomplishments are many, they pale in comparison to the controversy that he constantly generates outside of it.

Although the 34-year-old remains one of the sports most imposing figures, it should be noted that he has gone 0-2-1 over his last three contests. And it could be argued that he hasn’t won a “big” fight since he took a split decision from Forrest Griffin at UFC 59 in April of 2006.

Coleman has compiled a 16-9 pro mark over his Hall of Fame career, and like Tito, was once a UFC champion. He holds a 7-4 record inside the Octagon, including his unanimous decision victory at UFC 100 as he dominated a much younger Stephan Bonnar en route to a landslide win.

Lesnar has silenced most of his MMA critics since capturing the UFC title a couple scraps back. Although he only owns a 4-1 pro mark, they are some of the most exciting and dominating five fights you have ever seen.

Carwin holds a perfect 11-0 record, however hasn’t faced anyone like Lesnar. Although he isn’t shy about speaking his mind, we don’t disagree with much of anything that he has ever Tweeted, Blogged or said.

UFC Fight Club members have first dibs for tickets on Thursday, while UFC Newsletter subscribers receive access on Friday, September 18th. The general public gets their shot on Saturday, September 19th at Ticketmaster.com.

Here are the fighters competing in the nights pay-per-view broadcast:

Dustin Hazelett vs. Karo Parisyan
Phil Baroni vs. Amir Sadollah
Marcus Davis vs. Ben Saunders
Ricardo Almeida vs. Jon Fitch
Antonio Rogerio Nogueira vs. Luis Cane
Tito Ortiz vs. Mark Coleman
Shane Carwin vs. Brock Lesnar (UFC Heavyweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!