Picture
 

Takeya Mizugaki Paid ‘Win Bonus’ Despite Loss at UFC 144

Written by Tom Ngo
February 26th, 2012
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Bantamweight Takeya Mizugaki

Do you remember in the movie White Men Can’t Jump when Gloria Clemente told Billy Hoyle, “Sometimes when you win, you really lose, and sometimes when you lose, you really win…”? Well, the latter scenario appears to be the case for featherweight Takeya Mizugaki (Pictured).

Despite dropping a controversial (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) unanimous decision loss to Chris Cariaso at UFC 144 on Sunday, company president Dana White announced at the post-fight press conference that he would still award Mizugaki with his ‘win bonus.’

The 135-pounders battled in three very difficult rounds to score. Despite the back-and-forth action, Mizugaki secured a takedown in each of the first two rounds and held top position in the final frame after Cariaso slipped when missing on a head kick.

White’s generosity shouldn’t come as much of a surprise, as MMA’s big boss has done things of this nature in the past. Furthermore, immediately after the dubious decision was rendered, he tweeted, “Is it me or did Mizugaki just get screwed by the judges!?”

Perhaps the defeat was written all over the Octagon wall prior to the bout. Mizugaki had alternated between wins and losses over his last nine fights and he had just beaten Cole Escovedo in his last outing. The veteran hasn’t rattled off back-to-back victories since December of 2008.

Although he technically left Saitama Super Arena in Japan with another loss on his résumé, he won in the eyes of White, which is clearly more important.

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS