‘Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey’ Salaries Released

Written by Tom Ngo
March 5th, 2012

Strikeforce Champ Ronaldo Souza Jacare

The Ohio Athletic Commission has released the official salaries for all of the contestants that competed in last Saturday’s “Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey” event.

Former middleweight champion Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza (Pictured) was the card’s highest earner. He pocketed a cool $92,000 for his submission victory over last-minute substitute Bristol Marunde.

Although Josh Thomson wasn’t satisfied with is unanimous decision win over K.J. Noons, the prior lightweight champ must be pleased about his flat $80k salary. That tally was good enough to earn “The Punk” the night’s second-largest payday.

Despite headlining the festivities, Ronda Rousey only made $32,000 for submitting Miesha Tate to capture the Strikeforce bantamweight crown. That’s nearly one-third of Jacare’s paycheck and not even half of Thomson’s.

Tate, on the other hand, earned $19,000 for her four minutes and 27 seconds of work.

Nationwide Arena in Columbus hosted this weekend’s extravaganza.

Please keep in mind, the numbers that get reported to the athletic commissions are only of what’s required. These figures do not include deductions for items such as licenses and taxes. Additionally, they do not contain money paid to the fighters by sponsors.

Here are the official salaries for “Strikeforce: Tate vs. Rousey” (Courtesy of MMAJunkie):

(Total disclosed payroll: $543,500)

Ronda Rousey: $32,000 (includes $17,000 win bonus)
def. Miesha Tate: ($19,000)

Josh Thomson: $80,000 (no win bonus)
def. K.J. Noons: $38,000

Kazuo Misaki: $50,000 (no win bonus)
def. Paul Daley: $45,000

Lumumba Sayers: $10,000 (includes $5,000 win bonus)
Scott Smith: $65,000

Ronaldo Souza: $92,000 (includes $22,000 win bonus)
def. Bristol Marunde: $10,000

Sarah Kaufman: $25,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Alexis Davis: $4,000

Roger Bowling: $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus)
def. Brandon Saling: $5,000

Pat Healy: $22,500 (includes $5,000 win bonus)
def. Carlos Fodor: $12,000

Ryan Couture: $10,000 (no win bonus)
def. Conor Heun: $8,000

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!