UFC 148: The Fight Card That Could Have Been

Written by Tom Ngo
July 4th, 2012

UFC Poster 148 Silva Sonnen Faber Cruz

With so much hoopla surrounding Saturday’s rematch between middleweight king Anderson Silva and Chael Sonnen, it’s easy to forget how star-studded the entire UFC 148 roster once was. At the outset, it appeared the lineup would challenging UFC 100 as the most talented the organization had ever assembled. 

However, the injury bug did its thing, as it has had a knack of doing of late, and depleted the depth of the pay-per-view card.

Bantamweight champ Dominick Cruz was initially slated to complete his trilogy against Urijah Faber, but a knee injury forced “The Dominator” out of the co-featured attraction. The organization then arranged for Faber to battle Renan Barao for the interim 135-pound title, though the scrap was transition to headline UFC 149 after that show’s main event was postponed due to injury.

Speaking of UFC 149, Michael Bisping vs. Tim Boetsch was also moved from this July 7th extravaganza to help bolster that Canadian card. Bisping ultimately had to bow out of the shootout with a knee injury of his own.

Furthermore, Rich Franklin was promoted from his fight against Cung Le so he could headline UFC 148 opposite Wanderlei Silva. The UFC was subsequently forced to call Patrick Cote back up to the big leagues for another go-round.

In July 2009, UFC 100 featured the company’s two biggest PPV draws in then-heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar and reigning welterweight king Georges St-Pierre. Dan Henderson vs. Michael Bisping, Jon Fitch vs. Paulo Thiago and Yoshihiro Akiyama vs. Alan Belcher also appeared in the main card.

UFC 148 takes place inside MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Here is Saturday’s revised lineup:

Preliminary Card:

(Facebook 7:25PM ET/4:25PM PT)

Yoislandy Izquierdo vs. Rafaello Oliveira


Shane Roller vs. John Alessio

Riki Fukuda vs. Constantinos Philippou

Melvin Guillard vs. Fabricio Camoes

Gleison Tibau vs. Khabib Nurmagomedov

Main Card:

(Pay-Per-View 10PM ET/7PM PT)

Ivan Menjivar vs. Mike Easton

Chad Mendes vs. Cody McKenzie

Demian Maia vs. Dong Hyun Kim

Cung Le vs. Patrick Cote

Tito Ortiz vs. Forrest Griffin

Chael Sonnen vs. Anderson Silva (UFC middleweight champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!