Picture
 

Shogun vs. Vera Main Card Set

Written by Tom Ngo
July 16th, 2012
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Light Heavyweight Mauricio Shogun Rua

The main card for the Octagon’s fourth foray on FOX has been finalized. “UFC on FOX: Shogun vs. Vera” takes place Aug. 4 and features a light heavyweight shootout between Mauricio “Shogun” Rua (Pictured) and Brandon Vera.

Speaking of 205-pounders, Lyoto Machida and Ryan Bader will serve as the night’s co-main attraction. A heavyweight battle with Travis Browne and Ben Rothwell gets the lineup’s third billing, while a lightweight affair between Joe Lauzon and Jamie Varner rounds out the prime-time lineup.

FUEL TV will kick things off by airing a handful of preliminary bouts live starting at 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT). FOX then broadcasts the four showcase fights immediately after at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT).

Staples Center in Los Angeles hosts the bash.

Here is the event’s current lineup:

Preliminary Card:

Michihiro Omigawa vs. Manny Gamburyan*

(FUEL TV 5PM ET/2PM PT)

Oli Thompson vs. Phil De Fries

Josh Grispi vs. Rani Yahya

Mike Swick vs. DaMarques Johnson

Matt Mitrione vs. Rob Broughton

Phil Davis vs. Wagner Prado

Nam Phan vs. Cole Miller

Main Card:

(FOX 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Joe Lauzon vs. Jamie Varner

Travis Browne vs. Ben Rothwell

Lyoto Machida vs. Ryan Bader

Mauricio “Shogun” Rua vs. Brandon Vera

* – Expected to stream live on Facebook

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS