Picture
 

‘UFC on FOX: Shogun vs. Vera’ Schedule Finalized

Written by Tom Ngo
July 27th, 2012
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Light Heavyweight Mauricio Shogun Rua

As my parents like to ask, “Who needs Facebook?” With the last-minute subtraction of the heavyweight scrap between Travis Browne and Ben Rothwell, the UFC will not need to stream any “UFC on FOX: Shogun vs. Vera” fights on their Facebook page.

FUEL TV kicks off the August 4th festivities by airing six preliminary bouts live starting at 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT). FOX then broadcasts the four showcase fights immediately after at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT).

According to UFC president Dana White, a light heavyweight top contender will emerge from the event. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua (Pictured) can solidify his next dibs status by posting an impressive win over Brandon Vera in the show’s featured attraction.

However, if Vera serves up an upset special or Shogun is less than spectacular in victory, Lyoto Machida will earn the nod by giving Ryan Bader the business in the night’s co-main event.

Staples Center in Los Angeles, California will serve as host.

Here is the show’s official agenda:

Preliminary Card:

(FUEL TV 5PM ET/2PM PT)

John Moraga vs. Ulysses Gomez

Michihiro Omigawa vs. Manny Gamburyan

Oli Thompson vs. Phil De Fries

Josh Grispi vs. Rani Yahya

Phil Davis vs. Wagner Prado

Nam Phan vs. Cole Miller

Main Card:

(FOX 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Mike Swick vs. DaMarques Johnson

Joe Lauzon vs. Jamie Varner

Lyoto Machida vs. Ryan Bader

Mauricio “Shogun” Rua vs. Brandon Vera

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS