Picture
 

Spike TV to Broadcast Two LIVE UFC 104 Bouts

Written by Tom Ngo
October 12th, 2009
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

If it ain’t broke, don’t try to fix it. That’s the mantra Spike TV and the UFC decided to go with for their October 24th UFC 106 event. The network confirmed today that they will once again broadcast two LIVE preliminary bouts to kick off the pay-per-view segment of the evening.

You can catch the one-hour commercial-free telecast beginning at 9PM ET/6PM PT, with the PPV portion of the extravaganza popping off at 10PM ET/7PM PT.

And the winner is …

“The Ultimate Fighter 8” light heavyweight winner Ryan Bader’s fight against Eric Schafer, and Antoni Hardonk’s heavyweight bout against Patrick Barry.

The freebie fights were a big hit when Spike TV and the UFC broadcast them for the first time at UFC 103 on September 19th. That hour-long broadcast garnered a spectacular 1.4 million viewers.

The good news is that Spike stated they might air additional fights during their 60-minute run, however it will depend on the duration of these two bouts. In other words, we need some fast finishes if we want some more gratis action.

UFC 106 will be headlined by a light heavyweight title bout between champ Lyoto Machida and Mauricio “Shogun” Rua. This will mark Machida’s first-ever title defense. He boasts a perfect 15-0 professional record.

Here are the fighters slated to be competing in the night’s show:

Preliminary Card:

Chase Gormley vs. Stefan Struve
Razak Al-Hassan vs. Kyle Kingsbury
Josh Neer vs. Gleison Tibau
Jorge Rivera vs. Rob Kimmons
Yushin Okami vs. Chael Sonnen

(Spike TV 9PM ET/6PM PT)

Antoni Hardonk vs. Pat Barry
Ryan Bader vs. Eric Schafer

Main Card:
Anthony Johnson vs. Yoshiyuki Yoshida
Joe Stevenson vs. Spencer Fisher
Ben Rothwell vs. Cain Velasquez
Mauricio “Shogun” Rua vs. Lyoto Machida (UFC Light Heavyweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS