Dana White: Jeremy Stephens Will Fight Tonight Despite Morning Arrest

Written by Tom Ngo
October 5th, 2012

UFC Lightweight Jeremy Stephens

There sure is a whole lot of last-minute drama surrounding an event that hasn’t garnered much hoopla. Just hours before the curtain is drawn on “UFC on FX: Browne vs. Bigfoot,” lightweight Jeremy Stephens (Pictured) was arrested by the Minneapolis Police Department for outstanding warrants.

MMAJunkie was the first to confirm Stephens’ unfortunate predicament. However, authorities have not disclosed any information regarding what the outstanding warrants are in reference to.

Stephens is slated to face Yves Edwards tonight inside Target Center in Minneapolis. According to UFC president Dana White, the 155-pound scrap is still a go.

“Don’t listen to the media! Nobody ever told them Jeremy isn’t fighting. He is fighting!!” White tweeted just moments ago.

This isn’t the first incident the freebie fight card has faced. During Friday’s weigh-ins, the promotion was forced to cancel the bout between veteran Dennis Hallman and Thiago Tavares after Hallman missed weight by seven pounds.

Stephens and Edwards are set to square off in the night’s final preliminary bout, which airs live on FUEL TV at 5PM ET/2PM PT. FX broadcasts the show’s four featured fights at 8PM ET/5PM PT.

Don’t forget to follow 5thRound on Twitter and Facebook!
COMMENTS