‘Strikeforce: Champions’ Lineup Undergoes Major Makeover

Written by Tom Ngo
November 29th, 2012

Strikeforce Jorge Masvidal

And then there was one, as in only one title affair that will be showcased in “Strikeforce: ChampionS.” On Thursday, it was finally confirmed who Pat Healy and Lorenz Larkin will fight in the January 12th event now that lightweight king Gilbert Melendez and middleweight champ Luke Rockhold have been forced bow out of their respective bouts.

As been rumored, Healy will in fact battle former top contender Jorge Masvidal (Pictured). Larkin, meanwhile, meets prior 185-pound champion Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza.

In addition, a light heavyweight contest between Roger Gracie vs. Anthony Smith and a middleweight shootout with Trevor Smith and Tim Kennedy were also reported for the lineup.

Nate Marquardt defends his middleweight crown against Tarec Saffiedine in the show’s featured attraction.

Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma will serve as host.

Showtime broadcasts the main card at 10PM ET/PT.

Here is the card’s current roster:

Ryan Couture vs. K.J. Noons

Trevor Smith vs. Tim Kennedy

Roger Gracie vs. Anthony Smith

Pat Healy vs. Jorge Masvidal

Nandor Guelmino vs. Josh Barnett*

Lorenz Larkin vs. Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza

Mike Kyle vs. Gegard Mousasi

Danie Cormier vs. Dion Staring

Tarec Saffiedine vs. Nate Marquardt (Strikeforce welterweight champion)

* – Not yet confirmed

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!