Junior dos Santos Wins Big Despite Loss at UFC 155

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
December 31st, 2012

UFC Junior Dos Santos

Despite losing his heavyweight title and having his face mauled to the point where he’s barely recognizable, former UFC champion Junior dos Santos (Pictured) still left UFC 155 as the night’s biggest winner.

According to the Nevada State Athletic Commission, dos Santos scored a cool $400,000 for his lopsided unanimous decision defeat to Cain Velasquez.

Velasquez, meanwhile, left Las Vegas with the hardware and $200,000, half of which came via win bonus.

Please keep in mind, the numbers that get reported to the athletic commissions are only of what’s required. These figures do not include deductions for items such as licenses and taxes.

Additionally, they do not contain money paid by sponsors or any bonuses from the UFC. These royalties can include pay-per-view commissions, Fight Night bonuses, top secret discretionary bonuses, etc., which can oftentimes represent a substantial portion of a fighter’s total income.

MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas hosted Saturday’s event.

Here are the official salaries for UFC 155:

(Total disclosed payroll: $1.261 million)

Preliminary Card:

John Moraga: $22,000 (Includes $11,000 win bonus)
Chris Cariaso: $12,000

Max Holloway: $24,000 (Includes $12,000 win bonus)
Leonard Garcia: $20,000

Todd Duffee: $16,000 (Includes $8,000 win bonus)
Philip De Fries: $14,000

Myles Jury: $16,000 (Includes $8,000 win bonus)
Michael Johnson: $14,000

Jamie Varner: $24,000 (Includes $12,000 win bonus)
Melvin Guillard: $42,000

Erik Perez: $20,000 (Includes $10,000 win bonus)
Byron Bloodworth: $6,000

Eddie Wineland: $30,000 (Includes $15,000 win bonus)
Brad Pickett: $17,000

Main Card:

Derek Brunson: $30,000 (Includes $17,000 win bonus)
Chris Leben: $51,000

Yushin Okami: $84,000 (Includes $42,000 win bonus)
Alan Belcher: $37,000

Constantinos Philippou: $36,000 (Includes $18,000 win bonus)
Tim Boetsch: $37,000

Jim Miller: $82,000 (Includes $41,000 win bonus)
Joe Lauzon: $27,000

Cain Velasquez: $200,000 (Includes $100,000 win bonus)
Junior dos Santos: $400,000

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!