Picture
 

Dennis Siver Out Against Cub Swanson, Dustin Poirier in at ‘UFC on FUEL TV 7’

Written by Tom Ngo
January 17th, 2013
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Featherweight Dustin Poirier

After watching countless fighters exit UFC events last year for various wounds, the injury bug is already doing its thing not even a month into 2013.

On Thursday morning, it was announced an undisclosed injury has forced Dennis Siver out of his featherweight shootout with Cub Swanson. Up-and-comer Dustin Poirier (Pictured) has agreed to serve as a last-minute substitute on February 16th.

Poirier was on the cusp of sniffing a championship affair until getting submitted by “The Korean Zombie” Chan Sung Jung in May. “The Diamond” rebounded nicely by tapping out Jonathan Brookins just last month.

Swanson will be riding a three-bout winning streak into the pivotal scrap. He was most recently seen putting Charles Oliveira to sleep at UFC 152.

Swanson vs. Siver was slated to co-headline the gig. It is believed the new matchup will maintain second-to-top billing.

UFC on FUEL TV 7‘ takes place inside Wembley Arena in London, England. FUEL TV will broadcast the main card live beginning at 3PM ET/12PM PT.

Here is the show’s updated lineup:

Preliminary Card:

(Facebook 12PM ET/9AM PT)

Phil Harris vs. Ulysses Gomez

Vaughan Lee vs. Motonobu Tezuka

Tom Watson vs. Stanislav Nedkov

Andy Ogle vs. Josh Grispi

Paul Sass vs. Danny Castillo

Terry Etim vs. Renee Forte

Main Card:

(FUEL TV 3PM ET/12PM PT)

Che Mills vs. Matt Riddle

James Te Huna vs. Ryan Jimmo

Gunnar Nelson vs. Justin Edwards

Jimi Manuwa vs. Cyrille Diabate

Cub Swanson vs. Dustin Poirier

Michael McDonald vs. Renan Barao (UFC interim bantamweight champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS