Jorge Santiago Enters Third Stint with UFC, Fights Gunnar Nelson in England

Written by Tom Ngo
January 23rd, 2013

UFC Middleweight Jorge Santiago

An undisclosed injury has forced Justin Edwards out of his “UFC on FUEL TV 7” fight against Gunnar Nelson. Enter “The Sandman.”

Former middleweight turned welterweight Jorge Santiago (Pictured) has agreed to serve as a last-minute substitute on February 16th.

This marks Santiago’s third stint with the UFC. Despite being one of the most accomplished 185-pounders in the world, the Brazilian hasn’t been able to translate that same success inside the Octagon.

The 32-year-old has gone just 1-4 in the big leagues, but owns a 25-10 record overall.

Nelson is unbeaten in his 11 pro outings (1 draw). The up-and-coming 24-year-old easily submitted DaMarques Johnson in his Octagon debut in September.

Nelson vs. Edwards was slated to appear on the main card. The new matchup isn’t expected to change the bout order.

The event takes place inside Wembley Arena in London, England. FUEL TV will broadcast the featured fights live beginning at 3PM ET/12PM PT.

Here is the show’s revised roster:

Preliminary Card:

(Facebook 12PM ET/9AM PT)

Phil Harris vs. Ulysses Gomez

Vaughan Lee vs. Motonobu Tezuka

Tom Watson vs. Stanislav Nedkov

Andy Ogle vs. Josh Grispi

Paul Sass vs. Danny Castillo

Terry Etim vs. Renee Forte

Main Card:

(FUEL TV 3PM ET/12PM PT)

Che Mills vs. Matt Riddle

James Te Huna vs. Ryan Jimmo

Gunnar Nelson vs. Jorge Santiago

Jimi Manuwa vs. Cyrille Diabate

Cub Swanson vs. Dustin Poirier

Michael McDonald vs. Renan Barao (UFC interim bantamweight champion)

Don’t forget to follow 5thRound on Twitter and Facebook!
COMMENTS