Guillard, Johnson, Herman and Smith Win Bonuses at UFC on FOX 8

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
July 27th, 2013

UFC Lightweight Melvin Guillard

After a night of freebie MMA action, UFC president Dana White awarded Melvin Guillard (pictured), Demetrious Johnson, Ed Herman and Trevor Smith each an additional $50,000 for their special performances Saturday night at “‘UFC on FOX: Johnson vs. Moraga.”

Guillard earned a much-needed win by putting Mac Danzig down with a vicious barrage of bombs in the second round of their shootout. “The Young Assassin’s” assault was good enough edge Robbie Lawler for “Knockout of the Night” honors.

Johnson dominated John Moraga in the main event to retain his flyweight title. Instead of cruising to a decision win, Johnson decided to end things in the final stanza with an armbar submission.

Herman and Smith battled for 15 back-and-forth minutes to score “Fight of the Night.” Herman also took home a highly controversial split decision victory.

UFC on FOX 8 took place inside KeyArena in Seattle, Washington.

Fight of the Night:

Ed Herman and Trevor Smith ($50,000/each)

Submission of the Night:

Demetrious Johnson ($50,000)

Knockout of the Night:

Melvin Guillard ($50,000)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!