To fake, or not to fake? That is the question surrounding James Krause.
In less than four minutes of Wednesday’s scrap with Bobby Green (pictured), Krause took two definite low blows and one borderline low blow that brought an end to their bout.
Green was deducted a point after the second accidental kick to the groin, but that didn’t deter him from executing additional low kicks. When the third one landed, Krause immediately dropped belly-down to the ground.
Veteran referee “Big” John McCarthy claimed it was a legal strike and ruled the scrap a TKO victory in Green’s favor, instead of deducting another point from Green for his third illegal kick or disqualifying him altogether.
UFC president Dana White believes McCarthy made the correct call.
“I thought it was a clean shot,” White expressed at the post-fight press conference. “The first two were definitely low. That other one was right on the border.
“I heard [UFC color commentator Joe Rogan] saying the foot hit the cup, but did it hit the top of the cup? Who knows? I thought it was right on the border.”
Even on slow-mo replay, it’s tough to tell exactly where the strike landed. At the same time, Krause’s no-no region was still plenty tender from the previous two shots, so it wouldn’t take much to cause damage when the third one arrived.
Krause claims all three kicks were illegal and he would never try to fake his way to victory.
“For all you guys saying I was faking and it was on the “belt line”. I’m a lot of things but a liar isn’t one,” Krause tweeted. “I would also like to add that I am a man if integrity. I would never fake an injury to win.”
It was clear Green didn’t intentionally target Krause’s groin on any of the kicks. He apologized profusely and said he’d be more than happy to arrange a rematch.
Here’s a replay of Green’s third cup check: