Picture
 

Did Johny Hendricks Tap Against Georges St-Pierre at UFC 167?

Written by Tim Ngo
November 17th, 2013
Share on Facebook0Google+1Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Johny Hendricks

Did you hear about the drama surrounding UFC 167 on Saturday night? No, not that Johny Hendricks (pictured) was (probably) robbed of a decision victory over reigning welterweight king Georges St-Pierre.

No, not that GSP unexpectedly announced he’ll be taking a leave from MMA after the controversial split decision verdict was rendered in his favor.

That the bout never should have been decided by the three judges sitting Octagon-side in the first place because Hendricks tapped out in the opening round.

Or did he?

Just seconds into their shootout, St-Pierre secured a takedown and attempted a guillotine choke. It appears as though Hendricks may have lightly tapped GSP’s hip three times.

It’s really tough to tell based on the GIF below. It could just be a glitch in the GIF, but I will say it’s certainly an odd hand motion to make during a fight if he wasn’t tapping.

I certainly did not see it during live action. UFC commentators Mike Goldberg and Joe Rogan didn’t mention it. Most importantly, referee Mario Yamasaki didn’t notice it.

You be the judge:

UFC 167 GIF



Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!

COMMENTS