Picture
 

Matt Brown Injured, Out of UFC on FOX 9 Fight with Carlos Condit

Written by Tom Ngo
December 7th, 2013
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Matt Brown

There were rumblings Friday night that something was awry, and today welterweight Matt Brown (pictured) confirmed the unfortunate news. With just seven days remaining until his critical shootout with fellow contender Carlos Condit, Brown has withdrawn with a back injury.

“Thanks for the support guys. I regret to inform all that I am out of the fight with Condit. I herniated 2 discs in my lower back this week,” Brown tweeted Saturday afternoon.

No word on how long “Immortal” will be forced to ride the pine.

Because showtime is just a week away, the UFC will scrap the bout instead of scouring its roster for a last-second substitute to face Condit at UFC on FOX 9. The lightweight affair between Mac Danzig and Joe Lauzon has been bumped to the main card.

The December 14 event takes place inside Sleep Train Arena in Sacramento, California.

FOX broadcasts the four features fights live starting at 8PM ET/5PM PT.

Here is the show’s revised agenda:

Preliminary Card:

(5thRound.com 3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT)

Darren Uyenoyama vs. Alp Ozkilic

(Fox Sports 1 5PM ET/2PM PT)

Cody McKenzie vs. Sam Stout

Roger Bowling vs. Abel Truji

Scott Jorgensen vs. Zach Makovsky

Pat Healy vs. Bobby Green

Danny Castillo vs. Edson Barboza

Court McGee vs. Ryan LaFlare

Main Card:

(FOX 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Mac Danzig vs. Joe Lauzon

Chad Mendes vs. Nik Lentz

Urijah Faber vs. Michael McDonald

Joseph Benavidez vs. Demetrious Johnson (UFC flyweight champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS