UFC 173 Fight Card Once Again Finalized

Written by Tom Ngo
March 31st, 2014

UFC TJ Dillashaw

Up until last Thursday’s surprising announcement, T.J. Dillashaw (pictured) had never headlined a UFC fight card. The seven-time UFC veteran could not have picked a better time – more accurately, the promotion couldn’t have chosen a finer occasion for him – as he’ll now challenge reigning bantamweight champ Renan Barao at UFC 173.

Dillashaw was initially slated to fight Takeya Mizugaki in the May 24 event, but was bumped to the show’s featured attraction against Barao after the middleweight shootout between champ Chris Weidman and Lyoto Machida, the card’s previous main event, got pushed back to UFC 175.

Francisco Rivera gladly stepped in to battle Mizugaki, and boom, UFC 173’s 13-bout lineup was once again set.

MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada serves as host.

Here is the show’s official agenda:

Preliminary Card:

(UFC Fight Pass 6PM ET/3PM PT)

Li Jingliang vs. Danny Mitchell

Sam Sicilia vs. Doo Ho Choi

Piotr Hallman vs. Yves Edwards

Vinc Pichel vs. Anthony Njokuani

(Fox Soprts 1 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Mitch Clarke vs. Al Iaquinta

Chris Holdsworth vs. Kyung Ho Kang

Michael Chiesa vs. Francisco Trinaldo

Jamie Varner vs. James Krause

Main Card:

(Pay-Per-View 10PM ET/7PM PT)

Tony Ferguson vs. Katsunori Kikuno

Takeya Mizugaki vs. Francisco Rivera

Jake Ellenberger vs. Robbie Lawler

Junior dos Santos vs. Stiple Miocic

T.J. Dillashaw vs. Renan Barao (UFC bantamweight champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!