UFC Changes Format For Hall Of Fame

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
May 5th, 2015

UFC Chuck Liddell

On Tuesday, the Ultimate Fighting Championship announced they are tweaking their Hall of Fame format. For the first time in its 12 year history, the exclusive club will be evolving into a four-category system.

Of the 12 members already in the UFC Hall of Fame, 11 are former fighters and one was a clothing pioneer for the brand Tapout. Starting with this year’s ceremony, which takes place July 11 during the UFC Fan Expo in Las Vegas, inductees will include:

Modern era wing: commemorating fighters who made their pro MMA debut in the modern era (after November 2000)

Pioneers era wing: commemorating fighters who made their pro MMA debut in the pioneers era (before October 2000)

Contributors wing: commemorating significant contributions outside of active competition

Fight wing: commemorating the greatest and most important bouts in the sport’s history

The UFC Hall of Fame Class of 2015 will feature a new member in each of the four categories. The current UFC Hall of Famers will be retrospectively inaugurated into the most fitting of the four categories.

“The UFC Hall of Fame has an important job – it not only celebrates greatness but it helps pass stories of the greatest athletes and fights in UFC history on to the next generation of fight fans,” said UFC president Dana White. “We’re looking forward to announcing the class of 2015 and what is going to be a great induction event on July 11.”

Ken Shamrock (2003), Royce Gracie (2003), Dan Severn (2005), Randy Couture (2006), Mark Coleman (2008), Chuck Liddell (2009 – pictured), Charles Lewis Jr. (2009), Matt Hughes (2010), Tito Ortiz (2012), Forrest Griffin (2013), Stephan Bonnar (2013) and Pat Miletich (2014) are the original 12 members of the UFC Hall of Fame.

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!