WEC 36 Medical Suspensions

Written by Tom Ngo
November 7th, 2008

The Florida State Athletic Commission handed down seven medical suspensions resulting from injuries sustained during the WEC’s event on Wednesday night. Newly crowned featherweight champion Mike Brown heads the suspension list after he upset Urijah Faber for his title. Brown suffered torn cartilage in his rib cage and will be suspended indefinitely.

Urijah Faber, Jens Pulver, Nissen Osterneck, Jonathan Brookins, and Rafael Dias all received 30 day suspensions following their respective TKO losses on the night.

David Avellan was suspended for 60 days after he suffered a more serious knockout against Aaron Simpson.

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!