Strikeforce Releases Official "Lawler vs. Shields" Roster

Written by Tom Ngo
June 2nd, 2009


With their second major MMA promotion just days away, Strikeforce has released the official lineup for their “Lawler vs. Shields” event this Saturday at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Missouri.

Today, Strikeforce director of communications Mike Afromowitz announced a minor tweak to their Showtime roster as Mike Kyle will be stepping in for Jared Hamman to take on Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante.

It was rumored that Herman was stepping up to face the talented Brazilian, however a recent injury forced him out of the heavyweight clash.

The main bouts will be airing on Showtime at 10PM ET/PT, with the night’s first bout jumping off at 7PM local time. Here is a list of the night’s finalized roster:

Preliminary Bouts:

Booker DeRousse vs. James Wade
Pat Benson vs. Dave Cochran
Lucas Lopes vs. Scott Ventimiglia
Tyron Woodley vs. Sal Woods
Josh Bumgarner vs. Jesse Finney
Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante vs. Mike Kyle

Main Bouts:

Kevin Randleman vs. Mike Whitehead
Joe Riggs vs. Phil Baroni
Nick Diaz vs. Scott Smith (Catch-Weight of 180 Pounds)
Andrei Arlovski vs. Brett Rogers
Robbie Lawler vs. Jake Shields (Catch-Weight of 182 Pounds)

Don’t forget to follow 5thRound.com on Twitter at twitter.com/5thRound.

(Tell us what you think about 5thRound.com by emailing us Here or posting in our Forums)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!