Picture
 

“UFC 117: Silva vs. Sonnen” Weigh-In Results

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
August 7th, 2010
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

Anderson Silva Chael Sonnen UFC weigh in 117

The time for talking is finally over, as “UFC 117: Silva vs. Sonnen” will be jumping off tonight inside Oracle Arena in Oakland, CA. The first preliminary bout is scheduled to start at approximately 7:20PM ET/4:20PM PT, with the live pay-per-view broadcast kicking off at 10PM ET/7PM PT.

Middleweight top contender Chael Sonnen has done everything within his power to antagonize the dominant, yet disenchanted, champion. Although Anderson Silva’s 12-fight winning streak features seven successful title defenses, the last three have been nothing to write to Brazil about, particularly the circus sideshow act he posted in his last outing at UFC 112.

Silva enters the highly anticipated scrap a 4-to-1 favorite to retain his crown.

UFC 117 will also showcase two top contender bouts. The massive 171.5-pound Thiago Alves rematches Jon Fitch to determine who gets next dibs at a 5Round welterweight affair, and Junior dos Santos and Roy Nelson will vie for a shot at the heavyweight strap as well.

Don’t forget to check back to 5thRound.com for our live coverage.

Here are the contestants that will be competing in Oaktown:

Preliminary Bouts:

Dennis Hallman (171) vs. Ben Saunders (171)
Christian Morecraft (263) vs. Stefan Struve (247)
Tim Boetsch (206) vs. Todd Brown (206)
Johnny Hendricks (171) vs Charlie Brenneman (171)
Rodney Wallace (206) vs. Phil Davis (205.5)
Dustin Hazelett (169.5) vs. Rick Story (169.5)

Main Bouts:

Junior Dos Santos (240) vs. Roy Nelson (263)
Matt Hughes (170.5) vs. Ricardo Almeida (170.5)
Clay Guida (156) vs. Rafael dos Anjos (156) (Swing Bout)
Thiago Alves (171.5) vs. Jon Fitch (170.5)
Chael Sonnen (185) vs. Anderson Silva (184.5 – UFC Middleweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS