Picture
 

Looking Ahead to “UFC 118: Edgar vs. Penn 2”

Written by Tom Ngo
August 23rd, 2010
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Hall of Famer Randy Couture

Now that “Strikeforce: Houston” is officially in the record books, let’s take a look ahead to this Saturday’s much anticipated “UFC 118: Edgar vs. Penn 2″ event that will be going down in Beantown.

The Octagon’s first foray into Boston will also mark lightweight champ Frankie Edgar’s first title defense. The 28-year-old will be granting former king BJ Penn an immediate rematch after taking a hotly contested unanimous decision at UFC 112 this past April.

In the night’s co-main event, boxing legend James Toney makes his mixed martial arts debut against UFC Hall of Famer Randy Couture. “The Natural” is a significant 7-to-1 favorite to bloody up the boxer.

Spike TV will be returning with “UFC Prelims” live at 9PM ET/6PM PT to kick off the night’s televised festivities. The freebie broadcast will feature a pair of exciting preliminary bouts, as Andre Winner faces Nik Lentz and Joe Lauzon will be taking on Gabe Reudiger. Fans will have to pay for the goods after that, as the pay-per-view event will be jumping off at 10PM ET/7PM PT.

The show takes place inside the TD Garden in Massachusetts, home of the Boston Celtics – who will NOT be hanging their 18th championship banner following their loss to the Los Angeles Lakers in the 2010 NBA Finals this past June.

Here’s a look at Saturday’s itinerary:

Preliminary Bouts:

John Salter vs. Dan Miller
Amilcar Alves vs. Mike Pierce
Nick Osipczak vs Greg Soto

(Spike TV 9PM ET/6PM PT)

Andre Winner vs. Nik Lentz
Joe Lauzon vs. Gabe Reudiger

Main Bouts:

Nate Diaz vs. Marcus Davis
Mario Miranda vs. Demian Maia
Gray Maynard vs. Kenny Florian
James Toney vs. Randy Couture
BJ Penn vs. Frankie Edgar (UFC Lightweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS