“UFC 119: Mir vs. Cro Cop” Fight Night Bonuses

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
September 25th, 2010

UFC Lightweight Sean Sherk

After a less than spectacular night of MMA action, UFC president Dana White awarded five fighters each an additional $70,000 for their special performances Saturday night at “UFC 119: Mir vs. Cro Cop.”

Although six of the eleven bouts on the card were decided by the judges sitting Octagon-side, there was a pair of scraps that stood out enough for the organization to award two Fight of the Fight honors.

Matt Mitrione looked much improved in his unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) win over the relentless Joey Beltran. “Meathead” was light on his feet throughout the heavyweight affair, and used his movement and reach to leave Indy with the W.

While that battle was thrilling, White stated Sean Sherk and Evan Dunham put on the best show of the evening. The lightweights slugged it out for 15 grueling minutes before Sherk was awarded a controversial split decision victory.

C.B. Dollaway made quick work of Joe Doerksen by submitting the veteran with a guillotine choke at 2:13 in the 1stRound of their middleweight contest.

Although Frank Mir knocked Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic out cold, White opted not to award a Knockout of the Night winner. It’s likely because the heavyweights put on a snoozer of a main event, up until Mir landed a knee with only 58 ticks left on the clock.

UFC 119 took place inside the Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Indiana. The event marked the Octagon’s Hoosier State debut.

Fight of the Night:

Sean Sherk and Evan Dunham, Matt Mitrione and Joey Beltran ($70,000/each)

Submission of the Night:

C.B. Dollaway ($70,000)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!