Brock Lesnar Paid TWICE as Much as UFC Champ Cain Velasquez

Written by Tom Ngo
October 26th, 2010

UFC Brock Lesnar Cain Velasquez 121

Despite leaving The OC with the heavyweight title in tow, newly crowned king Cain Velasquez pocketed only $200,000 for slapping Brock Lesnar silly at UFC 121 inside the Honda Center in Anaheim.

Former WWE superstar Brock Lesnar earned a $400,000 salary for his four minutes and 12 seconds of work. That works out to approximately $1,587/second.

The California State Athletic Commission released the official paydays for all the athletes that competed in this past Saturday’s pay-per-view extravaganza. The star-studded roster cost the world’s premier MMA organization a disclosed $1.513 million in total.

UFC president Dana White reported at the post-fight press conference that the company garnered a $2.15 million at the gate. Please don’t think for a second the Octagon just barely broke even, with possible record-setting PPV numbers expected for the highly hyped event.

Please keep in mind, the numbers that get reported to the athletic commissions are only of what’s required. These figures do not include deductions for items such as insurance, licenses and taxes.

Additionally, they do not contain money paid by sponsors or any bonuses from the UFC. These royalties can include pay-per-view commissions, Fight Night bonuses, secret somethin’ somethin’ handshakes, etc., which can oftentimes represent a substantial portion of a fighter’s total income.

Here are the official paydays for UFC 121 (Courtesy of MMAJunkie.com):

Cain Velasquez: $200,000 (includes $100,000 win bonus) def. Brock Lesnar: $400,000

Jake Shields: $150,000 ($75,000 win bonus) def. Martin Kampmann: $27,000

Diego Sanchez: $100,000 ($50,000 win bonus) def. Paulo Thiago: $18,000

Matt Hamill: $58,000 ($29,000 win bonus) def. Tito Ortiz: $250,000

Brendan Schaub: $20,000 ($10,000 win bonus) def. Gabriel Gonzaga: $67,000

Court McGee: $30,000 ($15,000 win bonus) def. Ryan Jensen: $10,000

Tom Lawlor: $20,000 ($10,000 win bonus) def. Patrick Cote: $21,000

Daniel Roberts: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus) def. Mike Guymon: $8,000

Sam Stout: $32,000 ($16,000 win bonus) def. Paul Taylor: $16,000

Chris Camozzi: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus) def. Dongi Yang: $8,000

Jon Madsen: $16,000 ($8,000 win bonus) def. Gilbert Yvel: $30,000

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!