Picture
 

BJ Penn vs. Jon Fitch, Michael Bisping vs. Jorge Rivera Officially Announced for UFC 127

Written by Tom Ngo
December 13th, 2010
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Promo 127 Poster Penn Fitch Bisping Rivera

Three days after UFC 127 was officially announced for February 26th, the world’s premier mixed martial arts promotion has confirmed a welterweight scrap between former champ BJ Penn and Jon Fitch will headline the pay-per-view broadcast.

Michael Bisping meets fellow middleweight Jorge Rivera in the card’s co-featured contest.

The Octagon’s highly anticipated return to Australia takes place inside the Acer Arena in Sydney (11/26/2011 in North America).

After getting dominated in back-to-back lightweight title fights to reigning king Frankie Edgar, Penn decided to make the jump back up to the 170-pound division. He quickly disposed of Matt Hughes in his last outing at UFC 123.

Although Fitch owns an imposing 23-3 resume, 13 of his wins have come via decision. The grappler’s last eight contests have all gone to the judges’ scorecards. He’s won all of them except a lopsided defeat to Georges St-Pierre at UFC 87.

Rivera owns a respectable 18-7 resume and has won three consecutive scraps. He handed Nate Quarry a TKO loss at “UFC Fight Night 21” this past March.

Bisping holds an impressive 20-3 professional record, with 16 of his victories ending in finishes. He’s riding a two-fight winning streak and was last seen handing Yoshihiro Akiyama a unanimous decision loss at UFC 120.

UFC Fight Club members will have the opportunity to purchase seats for the show tomorrow, December 14th at Noon AEDT (Dec. 13 at 8PM ET) via UFCFightClub.com.

A special Internet ticket pre-sale will be available to UFC Newsletter subscribers on December 15th at 10AM AEDT (Dec. 14 at 6PM ET).

The general public will have access to the remains on December 16th at 9AM AEDT (Dec. 15 at 5PM ET).

Here are the fighters expected to be heading to the land down under:

Preliminary Bouts:

Maciej Jewtuszko vs. Curt Warburton
Riki Fukuda vs. Nick Ring
Alexander Gustafsson vs. James Te Huna
Chris Camozzi vs. Kyle Noke

Main Bouts:

Spencer Fisher vs. Ross Pearson
Jorge Rivera vs. Michael Bisping
George Sotiropoulos vs. Dennis Siver
Carlos Condit vs. Chris Lytle
BJ Penn vs. Jon Fitch

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS