“WEC 53: Henderson vs. Pettis” Live Results

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
December 16th, 2010

WEC Poster 53 Ben Henderson Anthony Pettis Cruz Jorgensen

“WEC 53: Henderson vs. Pettis” took place Thursday inside the Jobing.com Arena in Glendale, Arizona.

The WEC went out with a bang in their grand finale. The organization’s swan song featured two title scraps, as Dominick Cruz was looking to defend his bantamweight crown against Scott Jorgensen in the night’s co-main event.

An electrifying lightweight battle between champion Ben Henderson and Anthony Pettis marked the final fight inside the blue Octagon.

Pettis has taken the sport by storm since debuting in WEC last June. With four victories in the organization, including a submission win over Shane Roller in his last outing, “Showtime” has become one of the most exciting lightweights in the world.

Henderson owns a perfect 5-0 WEC record and has become of the organization’s most popular athletes. The 26-year-old has promised to put on a show in front of his hometown peeps.

The winner of tonight’s title scrap will take on the victor of the UFC 125 main event between champ Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard. That contest will then serve as a UFC lightweight title unification bout in the upcoming year.

Here are the official results for WEC 53:

Preliminary Bouts:

Renan Baroa
Defeated Chris Cariaso via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 3:47 in the 1stRound

Yuri Alcantara Defeated Ricardo Lamas via Knockout (Punches) at 3:26 in the 1stRound

Danny Castillo Defeated Will Kerr via Knockout (Punches) at 1:25 in the 1stRound

Eddie Wineland Defeated Ken Stone via Knockout (Slam) at 2:11 in the 1stRound

Brad Pickett Defeated Ivan Menjivar via Unanimous Decision (29-28, All Three Judges)

Shane Roller Defeated Jamie Varner via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 3:55 in the 1stRound

Daniel Downes Defeated Tie Quan Zhang via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 30-27. 29-28)

Main Bouts:

Kamal Shalorus Defeated Bart Palaszewski via Split Decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Donald Cerrone Defeated Chris Horodecki via Submission (Triangle Choke) at 2:43 in the 2ndRound

Dominick Cruz Defeated Scott Jorgensen via Unanimous Decision (50-45, 50-45, 50-45) (Cruz becomes UFC  bantamweight champion)

Anthony Pettis Defeated Ben Henderson via Unanimous Decision (48-47, 48-47, 49-46) (Pettis becomes WEC lightweight champ and UFC lightweight top contender)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!