“UFC 125: Resolution” Fight Card Finalized

Written by Tom Ngo
December 14th, 2010

UFC Poster Resolution Edgar Maynard Carwn Nelson

With less three weeks before the curtain is drawn on “UFC 125: Resolution,” the world’s largest mixed martial arts promotion has finally confirmed the complete roster for their New Year’s Day extravaganza. A lightweight title scrap between champ Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard will headline the Octagon’s first show of the new decade.

Edgar will be entering his third consecutive title fight when he rematches Maynard inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. The scrap marks his second straight as the division’s king.

Maynard is looking for a repeat performance of his lopsided unanimous decision win over Edgar from back in April 2008. He stakes claim to a nearly perfect 10-0 (1 NC) record and schooled former top contender Kenny Florian at UFC 118 to earn next dibs.

After the injury bug shot down two prior co-main events, a middleweight tussle between controversial slugger Chris Leben and Brian Stann will now serve as the second-to-last fight in the pay-per-view broadcast.

Heavyweight Shane Carwin was originally scheduled to face Roy Nelson in the card’s co-featured contest, however back surgery put the former interim title holder on the shelf.

Freshly minted UFC featherweight king Jose Aldo was then set to defend his strap against Josh Grispi, but Aldo subsequently went down with an injury as well.

Here are the fighters that will be participating in the first Octagon event of the year:

Preliminary Bouts:

Antonio McKee vs. Jacob Volkmann
Daniel Roberts vs. Greg Soto
Mike Brown and Diego Nunes
Phil Baroni vs. Brad Tavares
Josh Grispi vs. Dustin Poirier
Marcus Davis vs. Jeremy Stephens

Main Bouts:

Takanori Gomi vs. Clay Guida
Nate Diaz vs. Dong Hyun Kim
Brandon Vera vs. Thiago Silva
Chris Leben vs. Brian Stann
Gray Maynard vs. Frankie Edgar (UFC Lightweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!