“Dream Dynamite!! 2010” Confirmed to Air Live on HDNet

Written by Tom Ngo
December 28th, 2010

Dream Poster 2010 Dynamite

‘Twas three days after Christmas and Alistair Overeem’s opponent for “Dream Dynamite!! 2010” still hasn’t been announced. Regardless, it didn’t stop HDNet from confirming his participation in the highly anticipated event.

The high-definition network will broadcast the extravaganza live in North America on December 31st beginning at 4AM ET/1AM PT.

This year’s show features more than 15 fights, including a “special rules” match between MMA superstar Shinya Aoki and K-1 striker Jienotsu Nagashima. The Japanese icons will alternate between MMA and K-1 rules during their matchup.

“Dynamite!! has become one of the great MMA traditions for the sport and for HDNet viewers,” said HDNet Fights CEO Andrew Simon. “We are proud to broadcast Japanese MMA’s greatest spectacle to our dedicated insomniacs!”

Established in 2002 as a joint promotion between K-1 and PrideFC, the annual “Dynamite!!” New Year’s Eve show has attracted a cumulative live audience of over 400,000 spectators. The 2009 festival attracted 45,606 to the Saitama Super Arena, which will also play host this year’s edition.

“Dynamite!! is a fighting festival that’s all about having fun and celebrating the New Year as a fight fan,” said HDNet commentator Michael Schiavello. “From the wacky entrances to the crazy entertainment and the amazing fights under various rule sets, Dynamite!! is like Cirque du Soleil mixed with a rock concert under the guise of an electrifying fight night like no other.”

According to Tuesday’s official press release, “recently crowned K-1 Grand Prix champ Alistair Overeem is rumored to face former UFC star Todd Duffee.”

Here are the fighters expected to participate in the New Year’s Eve bash:

IGF Special Rules:

Bob Sapp vs. Shinichi Suzukawa

K-1 Kickboxing Bouts:

Gegard Mousasi vs. Kyotaro
Tetsuya Yamato vs. Wicky Nishiura

Hybrid K-1/MMA Bouts:

Shinya Aoki vs. Yuichiro “Jienotsu” Nagashima

MMA Bouts:

Andy Ologun vs. Katsuaki Furuki
Hideo Tokoro vs. Kazushisa Watanabe
Hiroshi Izumi vs. Minowaman
Tatsuya Kawajiri vs. Josh Thomson
Mach Sakurai vs. Jason High
Caol Uno vs. Kazuyuki Miyata
Sergei Kharitonov vs. Tatsuya Mizuno
Jereome Le Banner vs. Satoshi Ishii
Alistair Overeem vs. Todd Duffee
Hiroyuki Takaya vs. Bibiano Fernandes (Dream Featherweight Champion)
Kazushi Sakuraba vs. Marius Zaromskis (Dream Welterweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!