“Dream: Dynamite!! 2010” Results

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
December 31st, 2010

Dream Poster 2010 Dynamite

While most Americans were milking every last minute of sleep in preparation for tonight’s New Year’s countdown, “Dream: Dynamite!! 2010” was jumping off in the Orient.

The star-studded event took place inside the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan.

Strikeforce champion Alistair Overeem and Todd Duffee battled to become Dream’s first heavyweight title holder, albeit on an interim basis.

A featherweight scrap between Hiroyuki Takaya and champ Bibiano Fernandes headlined the lengthy event.

Shinya Aoki, Josh Thomson, Gegard Mousasi all rang in the New Year overseas.

A planned “IGF special rules” contest between Bob Sapp and Shinichi Suzukawa was scrapped just prior to HDNet’s broadcast. Color commentator Michael Schiavello revealed Sapp was attempting to re-negotiate his contract backstage and eventually opted to withdraw from the fight.

Here are the results from Dream’s New Year’s Eve extravaganza:

Andy Ologun def. Katsuaki Furuki via unanimous decision

Kazuyuki Miyata def. Caol Uno via Unanimous decision

Hideo Tokoro def. Kazuhisa Watanabe via Submission (Armbar) at 2:02 in the 3rdRound

Hiroshi Izumi
def. Ikuhisa “Minowaman” Minowa via TKO (punches) – Round 3, 2:50

Sergei Kharitonov
def. Tatsuya Mizuno via TKO (Strikes) at 1:25 in the 1stRound

Gegard Mousasi
def. Kyotaro Fujimoto via Unanimous Decision (30-28, 29-28, 29-28)#

Yuichiro Nagashima
def. Shinya Aoki via Knockout (Knee)  at :04 in the 2ndRound

Alistair Overeem
def. Todd Duffee via Knockout (Punches) at :19 in the 1stRound (Overeem captures Dream interim heavyweight title)

Satoshi Ishii
def. Jerome Le Banner via Unanimous Decision

Marius Zaromskis
def. Kazushi Sakuraba via TKO (Doctor’s Stoppage) at 2:16 in the 1stRound (Zaromskis retains Dream welterweight title)

Tetsuya Yamato and Akiyo “Wicky” Nishiura fight to a Majority Draw (30-30, 30-29 Yamato, 30-30)#

Jason High
def. Hayato “Mach” Sakurai via Split Decision

Tatsuya Kawajiri Def. Josh Thomson via Unanimous Decision

Hiroyuki Takaya Def. Bibiano Fernandes via Unanimous Decision (Takaya captures Dream Featherweight Title)

+ – MMA/K-1 mixed-rules bout
* – K-1 rules bout

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!