“UFC 126 Prelims” Officially Announced by Spike TV

Written by Tom Ngo
January 24th, 2011

UFC Poster 126 Anderson Silva vs. Vitor Belfort

As expected, the Octagon will continue their generous ways by offering up two live preliminary bouts for their “UFC 126: Silva vs. Belfort” extravaganza.

Spike TV will kick off the televised portion of the night’s festivities with a pair of spectacular scraps. The hour-long lead-in show will feature Chad Mendes vs. Michihiro Omigawa, as well as Donald Cerrone vs. Paul Kelly.

Kelly burst onto the scene in 2008 with a hard-fought decision victory over Paul Taylor at UFC 80. In June 2009, Kelly moved to the lightweight division and has won three of his last five bouts.

Cerrone is riding a two-fight winning streak and just defeated Chris Horodecki via triangle choke at WEC 53 in December. The former WEC top contender is now looking to make a run in the big leagues.

Mendes has won his first nine professional fights, including the last four in the WEC.

Omigawa has been victorious in eight of his last nine contests. The 35-year-old is one of Japan’s more accomplished and popular athletes.

UFC 126 takes place February 5th inside the Mandalay Bay Event Center in Las Vegas, Nevada. Anderson Silva will defend his middleweight title in the card’s featured contest.

Spike TV will telecast 12 live “UFC Prelims” in 2011. The edgy network has aired a total of 13 “UFC Prelims” shows thus far, beginning with UFC 103 in September 2009, garnering an average viewership of 1.5 million.

Here is the revised agenda for the pay-per-view broadcast:

Preliminary Bouts:

Daniel Roberts vs. Mike Pierce
Kyle Kingsbury vs. Ricardo Romero
Norifumi “Kid” Yamamoto vs. Demetrious Johnson
Gabe Ruediger vs. Paul Taylor

(Spike TV 9PM ET/6PM PT)

Chad Mendes vs. Michihiro Omigawa
Donald Cerrone vs. Paul Kelly

Main Bouts:

Antonio Banuelos vs. Miguel Torres
Ryan Bader vs. Jon Jones
Jake Ellenberger vs. Carlos Eduardo Rocha
Forrest Griffin vs. Rich Franklin
Vitor Belfort vs. Anderson Silva (UFC Middleweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!