Picture
 

“UFC 128 Prelims” Will Open for Mauricio “Shogun” Rua and Jon Jones

Written by Tom Ngo
February 22nd, 2011
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Poster Shogun Rua Jon Jones 128 Faber

Dana White has been relatively quiet since UFC 126 wrapped earlier this month. Fortunately for MMA fans, White’s silence can be credited to the freebie fights he’s been arranging behind the scenes.

Just hours after Octagon brass announced four free preliminary bouts would kick off this Saturday’s UFC 127 pay-per-view broadcast, MMAJunkie is reporting the world’s biggest mixed martial arts promotion will continue their generous was for UFC 128 on March 19th.

Spike TV will air the thrilling lightweight scrap between Edson Barboza and Anthony Njokuani, as well as the 205-pound battle between Luiz Cane and Karlos Vemola on their popular “Prelims” show.

The live lead-in will start at 9PM ET/6PM PT, with the pay-per-view broadcast beginning immediately after at 10PM ET/7PM PT.

The UFC first offered the teaser for UFC 103 in September 2009 to help promote the struggling fight card, and the special proved to be an effective means of generating last-minute PPV buys.

UFC 128 takes place inside the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. A light heavyweight title fight between champ Mauricio “Shogun” Rua and Jon Jones will headline the card.

Here is UFC 128’s revised agenda:

Preliminary Bouts:

Dan Miller vs. Nick Catone
Manny Gamburyan vs. Raphael Assunca
Joseph Benavidez vs. Ian Loveland
Kurt Pellegrino vs. Gleison Tibau
Ricardo Almeida vs. Mike Pyle

(Spike TV 9PM ET/6PM PT)

Edson Barboza vs. Anthony Njokuani
Luiz Cane vs. Karlos Vemola

Main Bouts:

Brendan Schaub vs. Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic
Yoshihiro Akiyama vs. Nate Marquardt
Kamal Shalorus vs. Jim Miller
Urijah Faber vs. Eddie Wineland
Jon Jones vs. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua (UFC Light Heavyweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS