Picture
 

“UFC 128 Prelims” Features Anthony Njokuani vs. Edson Barboza and Eliot Marshall vs. Luiz Cane

Written by Tom Ngo
March 2nd, 2011
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Poster Shogun Rua Jon Jones 128 Faber

As expected, Spike TV has announced they will offer up a pair of freebie fights to kick off the “UFC 128: Shogun vs. Jones” festivities on March 19th.

The edgy network confirmed Wednesday their show will feature the thrilling lightweight scrap between Edson Barboza and Anthony Njokuani, as well as the 205-pound battle between Luiz Cane and Eliot Marshall.

The live lead-in will start at 9PM ET/6PM PT, with the pay-per-view broadcast beginning immediately after at 10PM ET/7PM PT. Hopefully, additional gratis fights on Facebook will be announced shortly.

The UFC first offered the teaser for UFC 103 in September 2009 to help promote the struggling fight card, and the special proved to be an effective means of generating last-minute PPV buys.

UFC 128 takes place inside the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. A light heavyweight title fight between champ Mauricio “Shogun” Rua and Jon Jones will headline the card.

Here is UFC 128’s revised agenda:

Preliminary Bouts:

Raphael Assunca vs. TBD
Dan Miller vs. Nick Catone
Joseph Benavidez vs. Ian Loveland
Kurt Pellegrino vs. Gleison Tibau
Ricardo Almeida vs. Mike Pyle

(Spike TV 9PM ET/6PM PT)

Edson Barboza vs. Anthony Njokuani
Luiz Cane vs. Eliot Marshall

Main Bouts:

Brendan Schaub vs. Mirko “Cro Cop” Filipovic
Yoshihiro Akiyama vs. Nate Marquardt
Kamal Shalorus vs. Jim Miller
Urijah Faber vs. Eddie Wineland
Jon Jones vs. Mauricio “Shogun” Rua (UFC Light Heavyweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS