“Bellator 40: Askren vs. Thompson” Results

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
April 10th, 2011

Bellator Fighting Championships

While most MMA fans were probably watching “Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Daley,” Bellator Fighthing Championships finalized their welterweight and lightweight tournaments on MTV2.

Current 170-pound champion Ben Askren continued his winning ways as he easily outpoined the always dangerous Nick Thomspon in a non-title affair.

Former UFC veteran Jay Hieron secured his spot in the welterweight tournament finals against Rick Hawn, with the opportunity to face the undefeated Askren on the line.

Michael Chandler was also victorious and will face Patricky Pitbull in the 155-pound tournament finals. The winner of that bout will go on to challenge Eddie Alvarez for the lightweight title.

Here are the results from Bellator 40:

Preliminary Card

David Rickels Defeated Dylan Smith via Submission (Triangle Choke) at 3:32 in the 1stRound

Eric Prindle Defeated Josh Burns via TKO (Doctor’s Stoppage) at 5:00 in the 2ndRound

Tyler Stinson Defeated Nathan James via Split Decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Michael Osborn Defeated Cody Carrillo via TKO (Strikes) at 1:27 in the 1stRound

Main Card

Michael Chandler Defeated Lloyd Woodard via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) – lightweight tournament semifinal

Jay Hieron Defeated Brent Weedman via Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) – welterweight tournament semifinal

Ben Askren Defeated Nick Thompson via Unanimous Decision (30-26, 30-27, 30-27)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!