Picture
 

“UFC 130: Edgar vs. Maynard III” Roster Updated, 11 Bouts Confirmed

Written by Tom Ngo
April 11th, 2011
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

UFC Poster 130 Edgar Maynard Rampage Hamill Mir Nelson

Now that “Strikeforce: Diaz vs. Daley” is officially in the record books, the world’s premiere MMA show is steadily filling out the roster for “UFC 130: Edgar vs. Maynard III.” While 11 bouts have been confirmed for the May 28th event, it’s possible one additional fight could be added to the card as game time approaches.

A 155-pound affair between Cody McKenzie and WEC vet Bart Palaszewski was added to the lineup on Monday.

UFC 130 takes place inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. Frankie Edgar will defend his lightweight title against Gray Maynard in the card’s featured attraction. It will mark the third time the 155-pounders have squared off.

They kicked off 2011 with a highly controversial draw at UFC 125. Maynard posted a convincing unanimous decision win over Edgar in their initial meeting back in April 2008.

The pay-per-view broadcast kicks off at 9PM ET/6PM PT.

Spike TV is expected to air two free preliminary fights at 8PM ET/5PM PT to start the festivities. If the current bout order holds true, Miguel Torres vs. Brad Pickett and Thiago Alves vs. Rick Story will be featured in the hour-long lead-in show.

Here are the athletes scheduled to participate in the star-studded show:

Preliminary Bouts:

Renan Barao vs. Demetrious “Mighty Mouse” Johnson
Chris Cariaso vs. Norifumi “Kid” Yamamoto
Bart Palaszewski vs. Cody McKenzie
Kendall Grove vs Tim Boetsch

(Spike TV 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Miguel Torres vs. Brad Pickett
Thiago Alves vs. Rick Story

Main Bouts:

Jorge Santiago vs. Brian Stann
Travis Browne vs. Stefan Struve
Frank Mir vs. Roy Nelson
Quinton “Rampage” Jackson vs. Matt Hamill
Gray Maynard vs. Frankie Edgar (UFC Lightweight Champion)

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS