Picture
 

“UFC 131: Lesnar vs. Dos Santos” Fight Card Updated, 11 Bouts Confirmed

Written by Tom Ngo
May 3rd, 2011
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

Lesnar UFC Poster 131 Dos Santos

Less than three days after wrapping the biggest mixed martial arts show in North America, the UFC announced 11 spectacular bouts for their return trip up north. “UFC 131: Lesnar vs. Dos Santos” takes place inside the Rogers Arena in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

A thrilling heavyweight top contender scrap between former champ Brock Lesnar and Junior dos Santos will headline the the star-studded show. The winner advances to challenge Cain Velasquez for his freshly minted heavyweight crown.

While only 11 bouts have been confirmed for the June 11th event, the card is expected to host 12 fights. A featherweight battle between Dustin Poirier and Rani Yahya is the final contest rumored to complete the roster.

The pay-per-view broadcast airs live at 9PM ET/6PM PT. It has been reported Spike TV will offer up a pair of freebie fights beginning at 8PM ET/5PM PT.

Here are the athletes expected to participate in Canada:

Preliminary Bouts:

Darren Elkins vs. Michihiro Omigawa
Dave Herman vs. Joey Beltran
Nick Ring vs. James Head
Anthony Perosh vs. Krzysztof Soszynski
Chris Weidman vs. Jesse Bongeldt

(Spike TV 8PM ET/5PM PT)

Dustin Poirier vs. Rani Yahya*
Sam Stout vs. Yves Edwards

Main Bouts:

Kenny Florian vs. Diego Nunes
Demian Maia vs. Mark Munoz
Mac Danzig vs. Donald Cerrone
Shane Carwin vs. Jon Olav Einemo
Brock Lesnar vs. Junior dos Santos

* – Not confirmed by UFC

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!



COMMENTS