“UFC 131 Dos Santos vs. Carwin” Salaries Released, Junior Wins Big Again

Written by Tom Ngo
July 8th, 2011

UFC Heavyweight Junior dos Santos

The Vancouver Athletic Commission has released the official paydays for all the contestants that competed in “UFC 131 Dos Santos vs. Carwin.” The show took place June 11th inside the Rogers Arena in Canada.

Junior dos Santos solidified his heavyweight top contender moniker by steamrolling Shane Carwin in the card’s featured contest.

Although the Brazilian did his best to end Carwin’s night in the 1stRound, the former interim champ managed to survive a brutal beating to force the officials sitting Octagon-side to determine the victor.

Dos Santos pocketed a cool $200,000 for his lopsided unanimous decision victory over the part-time engineer. Half of his check came via ‘win bonus’.

Carwin, on the other hand, left Canada with $40K for his efforts.

Please keep in mind, the numbers that get reported to the athletic commissions are only of what’s required. These figures do not include deductions for items such as insurance, licenses and taxes.

Additionally, they do not contain money paid by sponsors or any bonuses from the UFC. These royalties can include pay-per-view commissions, Fight Night bonuses, secret somethin’ somethin’ handshakes, etc., which can oftentimes represent a substantial portion of a fighter’s total income.

Here are the official paydays for UFC 131:

Preliminary Bouts:

Darren Elkins: $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus) def. Michihiro Omigawa: $8,000

Joey Beltran: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus) def. Aaron Rosa: $6,000

Dustin Poirier: $10,000 (includes $5,000 win bonus) def. Jason Young: $6,000

Nick Ring: $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus) def. James Head: $6,000

Krzysztof Soszynski: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus) def. Mike Massenzio: $8,000

Chris Weidman: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus) def. Jesse Bongfeldt: $6,000

Sam Stout: $38,000 (includes $19,000 win bonus) def. Yves Edwards: $12,000

Main Bouts:

Donald Cerrone: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus) def. Vagner Rocha: $6,000

Dave Herman: $36,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus) def. Jon Olav Einemo: $15,000

Mark Munoz: $60,000 (includes $30,000 win bonus) def. Demian Maia: $43,000

Kenny Florian: $130,000 (includes $65,000 win bonus) def. Diego Nunes: $12,000

Junior dos Santos: $200,000 (includes $100,000 win bonus) def. Shane Carwin: $40,000

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!