Chris Camozzi’s Controversial Draw at “Shark Fights 15″ Overturned to a Split Decision Win

Written by Tom Ngo
July 13th, 2011

UFC Shark Chris Camozzi

Why do I need to learn math? Isn’t that what calculators are for? Those were the pertinent questions I used to pose to my parents when I was ordered to do my math homework.

Thankfully, the folks forced me to learn my 123’s along with my ABC’s. Otherwise, I would look as foolish as the official that miscalculated Chris Camozzi’s controversial draw against Joey Villasenor at “Shark Fights 15” in Rio Rancho, New Mexico.

According to the official score sheet, judge Robert Romero scored the May 27th scrap 29-28 for Camozzi, while judge Jenna Vasquez awarded the fight 29-28 for Villasenor.

Judge Mark Sanchez scored the contest even at 29-29, which ultimately caused the bout to be a rendered a draw. However, upon further review he had actually given Camozzi the second and third rounds.

Therefore, Sanchez’s tally should have been 29-28 for Camozzi.

On Tuesday, the New Mexico Athletic Commission voted to overturn the decision from a draw to a split decision victory for Camozzi.

According to Sherdog, the miscalculation was the result of an “error made by the person running the scoring table.” This unfortunate situation certainly makes you wonder…

It may go down as one of the most anticlimactic victories in mixed martial arts history, but a win is a win, nonetheless. Camozzi bumped his professional record to 15-4 courtesy of the revised verdict. It was his first scrap since getting cut by the UFC this past February.

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!