Picture
 

“Bellator 57,” MMA’s Other Show on Saturday

Written by Tom Ngo
November 9th, 2011
Share on Facebook0Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter

Bellator UFC Ben Saunders

Lost in the hoopla surrounding “UFC on FOX” is the fact Bellator is also holding a pretty big show of their own this Saturday.

The Viacom-backed company will host the finals of their Middleweight and Welterweight Tournaments on MTV2 at 9PM ET/PT, which goes head-on with the UFC’s primetime television debut. However, the Octagon’s event will air live across the nation and in some parts of the world.

“Bellator 57” will also offer up a free live stream of their preliminary bouts on Spike.com starting at 7PM ET/4PM PT. The UFC’s Facebook page will be doing the same with their prelims beginning at 4:45PM ET/1:45PM PT.

Former UFC star Ben Saunders (Pictured) headlines Bellator’s card against Douglas Lima. The winner not only pockets $100,000, but will also get next dibs at welterweight champ Ben Askren.

Clearly the UFC will attract many more eyeballs than their stateside counterparts, but Bellator is a decent Plan-B.

Here is the roster for Saturday’s other MMA event:

Preliminary Bouts

(Spike.com 7PM ET/4PM PT)

Shawn Levesque vs. Matt Van Buren

Mike Sledzion vs. Taylor Solomon

Eric Moon vs. Josh Shockley

Chuck Mady vs. Denis Puric

Alexandre Bezerra vs. Doug Evans

Main Bouts:

(MTV2 9PM ET/PT)

Chris Horodecki vs. Mike Corey

John Hawk vs. Roger Hollett

Middleweight Tournament Finals:

Alexander Shlemenko vs. Vitor Vianna

Welterweight Tournament Finals:

Ben Saunders vs. Douglas Lima



Don’t forget to follow 5thRound on Twitter and Facebook!
COMMENTS