‘The Ultimate Fighter 16’ Results and Team Selections

Written by 5thRound.com Staff
September 15th, 2012

Shane Carwin Roy Nelson TUF16

If you forgot “The Ultimate Fighter 16” debuted Friday night on FX, no worries because we’ve got the results from the 16 eliminator bouts and team picks to get you up to speed.

Former interim heavyweight champion Shane Carwin and Roy Nelson will serve as this season’s opposing coaches. The bitter rivals will tutor 16 welterweights, with the tournament winner securing his future with a six-figure UFC contract.

The long-running reality show resumes next Friday on FX at 10PM ET/PT. The tournament winner will be crowned at the live finale on December 15th on FX.

Here are the results from last night’s fights, which was previously taped at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas:

Dom Waters Defeated Kevin Nowaczyk via TKO at :32 in the 1stRound

Michael Hill Defeated Lev Magen via TKO at 1:27 in the 1stRound

Bristol Marunde Defeated George Lockhart via Submission (Guillotine) at 2:23 in the 1stRound

Mike Ricci Defeated Jason South via TKO at 1:50 in the 1stRound

Julian Lane Defeated Diego Bautista via Unanimous Decision

Igor Araujo Defeated Cortez Coleman via Submission (Triangle Choke) at 3:16 in the 3rdRound

James Chaney Defeated Jerel Clark via Submission (Triangle Choke) at 1:30 in the 1stRound

Cameron Diffley Defeated Zane Kamaka via Submission (Armbar) at 1:37 in the 1stRound

Neil Magny Defeated Frank Camacho via Unanimous Decision

Jon Manley Defeated Ricky Legere, Jr. via Unanimous Decision

Colton Smith Defeated Jesse Barrett via Unanimous Decision

Matt Secor Defeated Max Griffin via Submission (Triangle Choke) at 2:55 in the 3rdRound

Eddy Ellis Defeated David Michaud via Submission (Arm Triangle) at 4:29 in the 2ndRound

Joey Rivera Defeated Saad Awad via Majority Decision

Nic Herron-Webb Defeated Tim Rubert via Submission (Armbar) at 4:17 in the 1stRound

Sam Alvey Defeated Leo Kuntz via TKO at :47 in the 1stRound

Carwin received the first overall pick and went with Alvey. Nelson’s top choice was Waters. Here are the official rosters for the yellow and blue squads:

Team Carwin (Yellow):

Sam Alvey

Bristol Marunde

Mike Ricci

Neil Magny

James Chaney

Eddy Ellis

Igor Araujo

Matt Secor

Team Nelson (Blue):

Dom Waters

Michael Hill

Cameron Diffley

Colton Smith

Jon Manley

Nic Herron-Webb

Joey Rivera

Julian Lane

Don’t forget to follow @5thRound on Twitter, Facebook and Google+!